Find a DUI Attorney in your city below. Retaining an attorney now could be beneficial in getting your charges reduced, avoiding penalties such as loss of driver’s license and could potentially save you money in expensive fines and court fees.
Explanation of DUI
In Georgia, a driver with a BAC (blood alcohol level) of .08 is considered “impaired driving” and being impaired to an extent that the driver’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle is affected.
Penalties and Sentences
- Possible jail time of up to one year for first offense.
- License suspension of up to one year for firstr offense.
- Minimum mandatory 48 hours in jail, possible 90 days to one year for second offense.
- License suspension of three years for second offense
- Minimum mandatory 15 days jail time for third offense.
- License revocation for five years for third offense.
All Offenses Of Georgia Impaired Driving Laws
- Ignition Interlock Device attached to vehicle for second and subsequent offenses.
- License plates seized for second and subsequent offenses.