Rhode Island DUI Court Process
When anyone charged with a crime in Rhode Island is arrested, the police officers who arrest them are required to inform them of the charges against them and bring the defendant before a magistrate. Typically, this must be done within 72 hours of the arrest.
The typical DUI case in Rhode Island is a misdemeanor and is tried in district court; felonies are tried in superior court. Misdemeanor cases tried in district court can be appealed to superior court if the defendant gives notice that he or she wishes to do so within 5 days of the final verdict.
The court can require various things from the defendant before allowing them to be released on bail, ranging from a promise to appear (which is known as “release upon one’s own recognizances”) to restrictions on the defendant’s behavior, to a bond which the defendant must forfeit to the court if he or she fails to appear when called.
Every person charged with a criminal offense in Rhode Island is entitled to a jury trial.
Call an Attorney
Call now to let us assist you in locating a DUI attorney in your area. We have a large network of DUI lawyers and legal representatives in our database. If you don't find an attorney for your area, we can locate one for you.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Should I hire a lawyer or use a public defender?
- What should I do immediately after recieving a charge?
- How do I find the best lawyer?
- Can a great lawyer really get my charge completely dropped?
- What are some common laws?
- What is the most important thing to be prepared for?
- How much will it cost total?
- How will I contact my lawyer?