DUI Attorney Logo

Missouri DWI Penalties



Most violations of the Missouri DWI laws are charged as class B misdemeanors, unless aggravating factors exist.

Class B misdemeanors carry a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail.

The penalties for DWI offenses in Missouri are listed below.  The law is constantly being updated, however, and not every DWI defendant will face the same penalties.

Keep in mind that each DWI offender faces additional administrative punishments that may be imposed in their civil case, in addition to the license suspension that occurs in the criminal aspect of the DWI case. Click on the Missouri Driving Tab for more information about the potential civil punishments.

Also, because every case is different, be sure to consult with a local attorney for more information on the particular penalties that apply to your case.


First Offense DWI – Class B Misdemeanor


Jail:  Up to 6 months

Fines:  Up to $500

Driving Penalties:  30 day license suspension followed by a 60 day restricted driving period (if over 21). 90 day license suspension if under 21.  8 points will be added to your driving record.  Must complete SATOP – Missouri Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program to have license reinstated.

High BAC:  weekend intervention program


Second Offense DWI – Class A Misdemeanor


Jail: Up to 1 year.  Mandatory minimum 5 days jail time OR 30 days community service with court approval.

Fines:  Up to $1,000

Driving Penalties:  1 year license revocation.  If 2nd offense occurs within 5 years, then 5 year license revocation. 12 points will be added to your driving record. Must complete SATOP – Missouri Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program to have license reinstated.

Probation:  30 days community service.  Must take and pass both written and driving portions of Missouri Driving Test.  Possible 1 month ignition interlock.

High BAC:  weekend intervention program


Third Offense DWI – Class D Felony


Jail:  Up to 5 years.  Mandatory minimum 10 days jail time OR 60 days community service with court approval.

Fines:  Up to $5,000

Driving Penalties:  10 Year license revocation.  12 points will be added to your driving record.  Must complete SATOP – Missouri Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program for license to be reinstated.

Probation:  60 days community service.  You must take and pass the Missouri Driving Test.

High BAC:  weekend intervention program

Call now to speak with and get an absolutely free consultation.


,


Frequently Asked Questions

Related DUI Topics


© 2014 DUIAttorney.com. All Rights Reserved. Site map.
Privacy Policy.