DUI Attorney Logo

Louisiana DWI/DUI Ignition Interlock Device Law



Louisiana DWI/DUI Ignition Interlock Device Law

Under Louisiana DWI Law, Ignition Interlock Devices (IIDs) are handheld breath testing devices that attach to the ignition system of a vehicle. In order to start the vehicles ignition, a person must first blow a sober breath sample (usually under .02) into the device. Any test result over the prescribed limit will render the vehicle immobile. Additional random breath samples will also be required while the car is in motion.

Persons arrested for a Louisiana DUI/DWI may be required to install an ignition interlock device as a condition of a restricted license or the reinstatement of the person’s driver’s license. A person whose license has been suspended will be required to have the device installed on the vehicle for the same period of the suspension.

Some LA DUI/DWI offenders may be eligible for a hardship license if they install an ignition interlock device onto their vehicle. Hardship licenses are restricted for use by drivers who need to travel to and from work, school, and/or church.

The cost for installation and maintenance of the device must be paid by the offender. They typically cost around $125 for installation and $65 per month for maintenance and recalibration.