Cook County, Illinois DUI Lawyer
|John Fotopoulos||The Law Office of John S. Fotopoulos |
14496 John Humphrey Dr.
Orland Park, Illinois 60462
|Sarah Toney||105 W. Adams St. |
Chicago, IL 60603
|STEPHEN KOMIE||ONE NORTH LASALLE STREET SUITE 4200 |
CHICAGO, IL 60602
|Peter Winthrop||4118 W. Lawrence Ave. |
Chicago, IL 60630
|Michael Carter||25 E Washington |
Chicago, IL 60602
|Cook County Court||Cook County Police||Cook County DMV|
|1500 Maybrook Dr
Maywood, IL 60153
Phone: (312) 603-4357
|125 S 5th Ave
Maywood, Illinois 60153
Sheriff: Thomas J Dart
|1903 N. Mannheim Road Melrose Crossing Shopping Center
Melrose Park, IL 60160
Phone: (312) 793-1010
Named after Illinois’ first Attorney General Daniel Cook, Cook County was established in 1831. Cook County is the second most populous county in the US (second to Los Angeles County) with a population ofÂ Â 5,217,080. The county seat is in Chicago.
Adults in Cook County charged with a DUI could spend to up to one year in jail (plus six months if a child under the age of 16 is in the vehicle). Fines could add up to $2,500 (plus $1,000 if child is in vehicle; plus $500 if BAC is 0.16% or higher). Your driverâ€™s license could be suspended for a minimum of one year plus community service hours and vehicle registration suspension.Â A second charge of DUI is still considered a misdemeanor, however, consequences are more severe. Five days in jail is a minimum mandatory sentence (or 240 hours of community service) but you could be given up to three years in jail. Fines could be up to $2,500 (plus $1,250 for having a BAC over 0.16% and up to $25,000 for having a child under 16 years in the vehicle). If a child under the age of 16 is in the vehicle the driver will be given felony charges. Drivers licenses will be suspended for a minimum of five years and an indefinite suspension of vehicle registration.Â Being charged for a third DUI now becomes a Felony. Drivers licenses will be suspended for a minimum of 10 years, jail time could add up to seven years, and fines could reach upwards of $25,000. Subsequent DUI charges bring lifetime license revocations and even heftier fines.
In Cook County there is a zero tolerance law when it comes to underage drinking. Minors with reported BAC of greater than 0.00% will face immediate consequences.
After being charged with DUI in Cook County it is advised you seek a specialized DUI attorney immediately. This way you can rest assured you are in good hands. Your Cook County DUI attorney will fight your case through to the end. With their knowledge of Cook County and the state of Illinoisâ€™ drunk driving laws and possible penalties your lawyer will take much of the stress of this difficult situation off of your shoulders.
Cities and Towns in Cook County
Elk Grove Township
New Trier Township
Oak Park Township
Norwood Park Township
River Forest Township
Country Club Hills
Contact John Fotopoulos
Call now to speak with and get an absolutely free consultation.
Attorney for Loudoun County
Frequently Asked Questions
- Should I hire a lawyer or use a public defender?
- What should I do immediately after recieving a charge?
- How do I find the best lawyer?
- Can a great lawyer really get my charge completely dropped?
- What are some common laws?
- What is the most important thing to be prepared for?
- How much will it cost total?
- How will I contact my lawyer?