DUI Attorney Logo

Colorado DUI Penalties



Colorado DUI & DWAI PenaltiesListed below are the penalties that are imposed upon a criminal drunk driving conviction in Colorado. For more information on the civil administrative penalties that also may apply, click on the Colorado Driving tab.

It is important to note that the penalties listed below are guidelines and ranges that a judge could sentence you to for a violation of Colorado DUI law. It is extremely important that you consult with a qualified CO DUI lawyer to discover the probable penalties you will face if you are convicted, and to conduct a complete evaluation of the merits of your case.

Colorado DUI consequences explained

FIRST OFFENSE DUI/DUI PER SE/HABITUAL USER
FINES: $600-$1,000; 5 days-one year imprisonment;
LICENSE SUSPENSION: 1 year;
OTHER: 48-96 hours of public service

FIRST OFFENSE DUI/DUI PER SE/HABITUAL USER WITH BAC .20 OR HIGHER
FINES: $1,000-$5,000;
JAIL: 90 days-one year imprisonment (court may suspend 80 days of imprisonment if offender complies with certain provisions);
LICENSE SUSPENSION: 1 year; OTHER: 60-120 hours public service

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE DUI/DUI PER SE/HABITUAL USER
FINES: $1,000-$5,000;
JAIL: 90 days-one year imprisonment (court may suspend 80 days of imprisonment if offender complies with certain provisions);
LICENSE SUSPENSION: 12 points toward license suspension;
OTHER: 60-120 hours public service

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE DUI/DUI PER SE/HABITUAL USER WITH PRIOR DWAI
FINES: $900-$1,500;
JAIL: 70 days-one year imprisonment (court may suspend up to 63 days of imprisonment if offender complies with certain provisions);
LICENSE SUSPENSION: 1 year suspension;
OTHER: 56-112 hours public service

 

Colorado DWAI penalties explained

FIRST OFFENSE DWAI
FINES: $200-$500; JAIL: 2 days-180 days in county jail;
LICENSE SUSPENSION: 8 points toward a license suspension;
OTHER: 24-48 hours public service

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE DWAI
FINES: $600-$1,000;
JAIL: 45 days-one year in county jail (court may suspend up to 40 days of imprisonment if offender complies with certain provisions);
LICENSE SUSPENSION: 1 year; OTHER: 48-96 hours public service

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE DWAI WITH PRIOR DUI/DUI PER SE/HABITUAL USER/VEHICULAR HOMICIDE OR ASSAULT
FINES: $800-$1,200; JAIL: 60 days-one year in county jail (up to 54 days of imprisonment may be suspended by court if offender complies with certain provisions);
LICENSE SUSPENSION: 1 year;
OTHER: 52-104 hours public service

**Other fees and costs will also apply to persons convicted of drunk driving offenses in Colorado. Additionally, the court may impose a period of probation for purposes of treatment not to exceed 2 years (or 2 additional years for persons convicted of a second or subsequent offense).