Alabama DUI Penalties: AL Drunk Driving Punishments
Alabama DUI Criminal Punishments
Listed below are the statutory penalties for criminal DUI offenses in Alabama. Specific punishments may differ on a case-by-case basis, depending on the facts and circumstances of the case and the nature of the charges. In addition to the criminal penalties that may be sentenced, additional civil penalties may also apply. Consult the Alabama Driving tab for more information on the civil penalties and the administrative process.
DUI FIRST OFFENSE – FINES: $600-$2,100; JAIL: up to 1 year; LICENSE SUSPENSION: 90 day suspension, or 6 months if controlled substances were involved; OTHER: substance abuse evaluation or drug/alcohol classes.
DUI SECOND OFFENSE WITHIN 5 YEARS – FINES: $1,100-$5,100; JAIL: up to 1 year imprisonment, which may include hard labor. Mandatory minimum 5 days imprisonment or 30 days community service; LICENSE SUSPENSION: 1 year license revocation; OTHER: DUI substance course and possible vehicle registration suspension for duration of license revocation.
DUI THIRD OFFENSE – FINES: $2,100-$10,100; JAIL: mandatory minimum 60 days-1 year imprisonment, which may include hard labor; LICENSE SUSPENSION: 3 year revocation; OTHER: DUI substance course and possible vehicle registration suspension for duration of license revocation.
DUI FOURTH OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE – CRIMINALLY NEGLIGENT HOMICIDE – (CLASS C FELONY) – FINES: $4,100-$10,100; JAIL: 1 year and 1 day-10 years imprisonment in county or state jail, which may include hard labor. Imprisonment that does not exceed 3 years will be served in county jail. A minimum of 10 days shall be served in county jail, and the rest of the sentence may be probated or suspended provided that the offender enrolls and successfully completes a state certified chemical dependency program. The court may order electronically surveillance house arrest during the term of probation; LICENSE SUSPENSION: 5 year revocation; OTHER: Court ordered DUI substance course and possible vehicle registration suspension duration of license revocation.
SENTENCE ENHANCEMENTS – A DUI offender over the age of 21 who had a minor child under the age of 14 present in the vehicle at the time of the offense will be sentenced to double the minimum punishment that would have been sentenced had the child not been present.
DUI ASSAULT – Class B FELONY – FINES: up to $10,000; JAIL: 2-10 years imprisonment.
HOMICIDE BY VEHICLE/VESSEL – FINES: $500-$2,000; JAIL: mandatory minimum 1 year – 5 years imprisonment.
Call an Attorney
Call now to let us assist you in locating a DUI attorney in your area. We have a large network of DUI lawyers and legal representatives in our database. If you don't find an attorney for your area, we can locate one for you.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Should I hire a lawyer or use a public defender?
- What should I do immediately after recieving a charge?
- How do I find the best lawyer?
- Can a great lawyer really get my charge completely dropped?
- What are some common laws?
- What is the most important thing to be prepared for?
- How much will it cost total?
- How will I contact my lawyer?